Arnold O. Beckman Medal and Award for Outstanding Scientific Achievements in The Field Of Electrodriven Separations Techniques


This annual award recognizes outstanding contributions to the field of electrodriven separation techniques and comprises a medal, diploma and a $5,000 prize, as well as the reimbursement of reasonable travel expenses to the MicroScale Separations and Bioanalysis (MSB) symposium. The award recipient will have made an outstanding career achievement supported by a significant body of work in the field of electrodriven separations with particular consideration given to the developments of new methods, techniques, and high impact applications.

This award is presented annually during the MSB conferences in a special Award Plenary Session followed by a lecture from the recipient. The award is sponsored by SCIEX, a global leader in life science analytical technologies in the name of Dr. Arnold O Beckman whose inspiration was a key driver behind the first commercialization of capillary electrophoresis technology. The Arnold O. Beckman Medal and Award for Outstanding Achievements in the Field of Electrodriven Separations is one way that SCIEX continues to celebrate the spirit of scientific innovation that is critical to the advancement of MicroScale Separations.

SCIEX helps to improve the world we live in by enabling scientists and laboratory analysts to find answers to the complex analytical challenges they face. The company’s global leadership and world-class service and support in capillary electrophoresis and liquid chromatography-mass spectrometry, have made it a trusted partner to thousands of the scientists and lab analysts worldwide who are focused on basic research, drug discovery and development, food and environmental testing, forensics and clinical research.

More information on Dr. Arnold O Beckman, whom this award is named in honor of, may be found at his foundation’s website.


With MSB 2018, February 18-21, 2018, Rio de Janeiro, Brasil, the Arnold O. Beckman Medal has been continued as  SCIEX Microscale Separations Innovation Medal Award for Current and Breakthrough Research in the Field of Electrodriven Separations. Read more on the  SCIEX Microscale Separations Innovation Medal and the last awardees here.

Arnold O. Beckman Medal awardees

Shigeru Terabe (2017)

Bohuslav Gaš (2016)

Gyula Vigh (2015)

Barry L. Karger (2014)

Wilhelm Einar Stellan Hjertén (2013)

Pier Giorgio Righetti (2012)