MSB2018 | Archives

The 34th International Symposium on Microscale Separations and Bioanalysis (MSB 2018) has been held at the Conference Center of the Windsor Barra Hotel (Barra da Tijuca) in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, from February 18-21, 2018.

Conference Chairs and Plenary Speakers

The conference Chairs Marina Tavares (University of Sao Paulo) and Emanuel Carrilho (University of Sao Paulo) organized a great conference with the Plenary speakers Norberto Guzman, Amy Herr, John Yates, Aaron Wheeler, and Marcos Eberlin.

Conference Program

A summary of the Conference Program can be downloaded here: MSB2018 Conference Program.


The following Awards have been attributed during MSB 2018:



Prof. Amy Herr, Professor of Bioengineering at the University of California, Berkeley. More information on Prof. Herr’s inspiring work can be found on the Awards page!

With MSB 2018, the Arnold O. Beckman Medal has been continued as SCIEX Microscale Separations Innovation Medal Award for Current and Breakthrough Research in the Field of Electrodriven Separations. Read more on the SCIEX Microscale Separations Innovation Medal here.


Young Scientist Award

Mónica Cala Molina (Los Andes University, Colombia)


Poster Prizes – Top 4 Posters

Adriana F. L. Vilela (University of Sao Paulo, Brazil)
Esme Candish (SCIEX, USA)
Juliana Maria de Lima (University of Sao Paulo, Brazil)
Thiago Paixão (University of Sao Paulo, Brazil)


Poster Prizes – Runners-up 5-10

Daniel Nelson (University of Virginia, USA)
Elena Dominguez Vega (Leiden University Medical Center, The Netherlands)
José Alberto Fracassi da Silva (University of Campinas, Brazil)
Letícia Jordão Marques de Oliveira (University of Sao Paulo, Brazil)
Víctor González-Ruiz (University of Geneva, Switzerland)
Wendell Coltro (Federal University of Goiás)